Friday, September 30, 2016

Project-TO - The White Side, The Black Side

Recorded in the Interactive Sound studies in Turin, Italy, property of Riccardo Mazza, the debut album by Project-TO was realized with the aim of live set, a real audio-visual experience where the songs of the white side, electronic/big beat-style, alternate with techno ambient/dark atmospheres of the black tracks. Within the work, the listener can find the influences of forerunners of this kind of sound like Chemical Brothers, DeadMau5, Crystal Method, Ancient Methods, Not Waving, Apparat and Andy Stott.

Powerful and unceasing rhythms characterize the white tunes, often layered and combined with electronic sounds and percussions/drumming recorded in studio. A very synthetic sound due to an important use of analogical and digital synths. Black songs are the "photographic negatives", more bitstream, of the white songs; every black is an interpretation of its corresponding white, where a more techno/dark arrangement changed deeply sounds and drafting, mantaining the same exact length.

Paths interweave symbolically with voices and sounds that sometimes recall universal symbols like in "Sign of the Earth", where Tibetan monks songs appear, or "Look Further", with a theme signed by Gregorian chants, or "I-Hope", characterized by an opening speech of Indian Parliament by Indira Gandhi and followed by comment 揑 Hope� of Hillary Clinton; images are bounded to our territory to underline our roots and our culture.

Double LP was indeed produced together with the original visual project that is part of the whole plan. Six videostories representing the six white moments, or rather a dreamlike travel of the two protagonists, that live different experiences and meet only occasionally and fleetingly. During the live set the voyage evolves with darker and more abstract visual atmospheres, sustaining black tracks. A video project in part inspired by the record Further by Chemical Brothers (2010), composed by eight songs accompanied by as many corresponding clips.

The shots are original, made in the studio and on location. Animations, video clips, characters in silhouette and abstract geometric textures, generated with appropriate physical models simulation softwares, are the characteristics of the production. The show is performed entirely live with mapping projections on the surface of the place hosting the event: walls, ceilings, furnishings or exterior facades. An immersive experience that transforms the space, where electronic music becomes part of a contemporary artistic language more evolved and experimental, while retaining the characteristics of a dance and trendy event.

Although extremely new, Project-TO has already executed high profile performances like Opening Party of Artissima in Turin, Italy (November 2015), the opening night of Torino City of Design (December 2015) and Fuorisalone in apartment Lago in Brera for Milano Design Week (April 2016).


Monday, September 26, 2016

8mm To Release Remix EP Of "Everybody Says"

Licensing juggernauts 8mm, will be featured in Fox FX's groundbreaking show, "You're The Worst" with their dubstep remix of "Everybody Says" by Geek Boy. In addition

to its critically-acclaimed writers and format, the golden ears of music supervisor Tiffany Anders have made "You're The Worst" one of the most Shazammed shows on


The episode will air on Wednesday, September 14th, the same day band self-release their EP of "Everybody Says" - The John Fryer and Geek Boy Remixes(ChelseaGirl

Records). A lyric video for Geek Boy's Dubstep remix accompanies the release and features Juliette Beavan.

In addition to UK up-and-comer Geek Boy's Dubstep and Trap remixes, the EP will include a chill remix by the legendary John Fryer of COCTEAU TWINS and DEPECHE MODE

fame. The original version of "Everybody Says" is from their critically-acclaimed album, "Between The Devil And Two Black Hearts", and was featured on the award-

winning supernatural drama, "Being Human".

8mm (pronounced: "Eight Millimeter") was founded by cutting-edge music producer/mixer/composer Sean Beavan (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, No Doubt, Guns n Roses)

and his wife Juliette Beavan, who is a singer as well as a poet, actor, writer, director and producer. Described as "June and Johnny Cash meet Massive Attack at a rave

with David Lynch", their genre-bending trip-hop classics are as popular as their remixes. Together, they are one of the most licensed artists in the business, having

songs appear in award-winning films likeMr. and Mrs. Smith, and critically-acclaimed television shows such as "Pretty Little Liars," "Grey's Anatomy," "One Tree Hill"

and "Nip Tuck". They are also renown for their live shows, noted for both their powerful performances and chances of celebrity sightings in their audiences.

As such, it was only a matter of time before film directors discovered them.Following critical acclaim for their 2014 debut scores on indies June and Death Valley, the

Beavans scored and Sean sound designed The Cleansing Hour and Don't Kill It, which are sweeping film festivals, including prestigious Austin and Sitges International

festivals. KILL HANNAH and FILTER guitarist Jonny Radke makes an enticing acting debut in The Cleansing Hour, which is directed by Damien LeVeck. The Beavans also re-

united with up-and-coming director Gustavo L. Cooper on the score for The Home.

Their most recent collaboration, Lion's Den, produced by and starring Juliette, has so far picked up 3 nominations (including Best Horror, Best Shortand Best Dramatic

Short) along with selections at the Burbank International, Hollywood Reeland Hollywood Verge festivals.

8mm are currently working on an EP in their new Redrum Studios in Los Angeles, to be released later this year. The new material will be a return to their trip-hop

roots. In addition to film work, Redrum has recently facilitated Sean's production and mix of the amazing BROOKLYN ALLMAN (PICTURE ME BROKEN) - and his reuniting with

MARILYN MANSON guitarist, Jeordie White (aka Twiggy), to mix his production of Black/Death Metal band EMPTINESS.

"Everybody Says" - The John Fryer and Geek Boy Remixes will be available on Bandcamp (highest quality), iTunes, Tidal, Amazon and all major digital outlets.