Friday, July 8, 2011

Oil Boom Releases Black Waxy EP

Drawing inspiration from a generous helping of American roots music and contemporary indie rock, Oil Boom mines the past-meets-present trail blazed by groups as diverse as The Gun Club and Two Gallants. The Dallas trio, comprised of two Oklahoma refugees (Brian Whitten, Ryan Taylor) and a St. Louis expatriate (Dugan Connors), has released a new six-song EP, Black Waxy, on May 3rd, 2011. Produced, tracked and mixed by Grammy™ Award winner Stuart Sikes (Loretta Lynn, The White Stripes, Modest Mouse, Cat Power) at Dallas’ Elmwood Recording, (the same room used by The Walkmen to complete their most recent effort, Lisbon), Black Waxy boils like the Texas soil for which it is named.

Armed only with a simple drums/guitar/vocal setup, the members of Oil Boom create a roomful of desperation, grit and sweat, delivered with the impassioned soul of road-tested music veterans. According to drummer, Connors, “I think people tend to make assumptions based on our limited instrumentation, and we’re interested in defying those and showing how much can be done with so little." Judging by their audience's enthusiastic response night after night, it seems as though they are succeeding doing just that.

The electronic release of Black Waxy will be available on all major sites such as iTunes, Amazon, Rhapsody, CD Baby, etc. At shows, the band will be selling a special package that includes one of 3 limited edition t-shirts, a unique drop card for EP and album art download, a sticker and two special slip in posters.

Oil Boom is planning on touring in support of the release this summer, both regionally and nationally.

No comments:

Post a Comment