Friday, March 15, 2013

Naama Kates Releases New LP And Music Video "King For The Day"

It's been a good year for singer-songwriter/pianist Naama Kates. Her debut album "Unexamined Life" was so well received by critics and fans she's already finished a follow up. Her sophomore full-length album "King for the Day" will be released on March 12, 2013. The digital release will be available iTunes and CD Baby and is currently available for pre-order on Amazon.

The "King for the Day" music video, directed by Luis Aguirre is available now on YouTube.

From sublime to sardonic, weary to whimsical, on "King for the Day" Kates turns out avant-pop songs using an alternative balance of classical, blues and jazz, seemingly effortless lush vocals and poetic lyrics layered with edgy humor.

Grammy-nominated producer Scott Fraser (Kronos Quartet) recorded, engineered and mastered "King for the Day" which features Mike Richardson on trombone, John Carfi on bass and Rich West on drums.

Kates' arrangements, and the fact that all of the songs on KftD were recorded with her new quartet in single takes, gives the album a cinematic flow that makes the listener feel they are enjoying a series of mini films. The songs are scenarios viewed from multiple angles of life filled with unexpected storms and tarnished silver linings.

Highlighted songs include: The title track, "King for the Day" which answers the question - "Oh wouldn't it be grand to be king for the day, everyday? � Now time to imagine the time when they take it away. Cue the chorus empathically sing: It'll all be okay." Track 12 the single, "Happy Homes," is a radio ready tune that celebrates the irony of being okay with everything falling a part around us. And, "Airplanes" muses on a peaceful early morning flight and the clarity that comes with being removed from it all.

Kates has a background in acting including roles in the hit TV series "NCIS" and the indie films, "My Normal," "The 10 Commandments of Chloe" (which she co-produced and for which she won several best actress awards), as well and the upcoming "Eden," which won "Best Picture" at SXSW and the Gotham Awards. The theatrical release date for "Eden" is March 20, 2013.

King for the Day track listing:

1. King for the Day

2. Freeze the Frame

3. Airplanes

4. Snow

5. Scratches and Ink

6. Help Yourself

7. Civil Twilight

8. Wild Is the Wind

9. Circles

10. Not for the First Time

11. Beautiful Night

12. Happy Homes

Album pre-order link:

Video link with embed code:

No comments:

Post a Comment